Streethouse are chasing league and cup double

Streethouse skipper Mark Robinson hit an unbeaten 72 in Sunday's final against Ackworth.
Streethouse skipper Mark Robinson hit an unbeaten 72 in Sunday's final against Ackworth.

Streethouse completed the first leg of a potential league and cup double by lifting the Dyson-Skidmore Trophy on Sunday.

They beat host club Ackworth by seven wickets in a thrilling final.

Batting first, Ackworth posted 234-4 which included an unbroken 114-run partnership between Chris Welburn (62no) and Chris Wathen (37no). David Harris (54) and Joe Seddon (41) were the other main contributors.

In a nail-biting finish, Streethouse knocked off the runs with just three balls remaining.

Damien Bowles struck 66 and captain Mark Robinson (72no) and Callum Honeyman (55no) shared a match-winning unbroken fourth-wicket partnership of 140.

Sunday’s win completed a great weekend for Streethouse who snatched top spot in Division One the previous day when they beat Stainborough and Ackworth lost to Old Sharlston.

Steve Honeyman grabbed 5-19 in an 11-over spell that included six maidens as Stainborough were bowled out for 101. Scott Bland claimed 2-18 from 14 overs and Jordan Page 2-38 from nine.

In reply, Streethouse eased to a seven-wicket victory in 27.5 overs with Robinson finishing unbeaten on 28.

Streethouse are three points clear of Ackworth and defending champions Fairburn.

Ackworth lost to spot with a 41-run home defeat against fourth-placed Old Sharlston who are also in contention for the championship.

Jack Willis’s 45 was in vain for Ackworth as they fell for 155, replying to Sharlston’s 196-9 that included 59 by Steve Roberts.

Fairburn coasted to a 123-run victory at Fishlake.

Craig Piggott (105) guided Fairburn to 221-5 and Paul Clark (5-20) skittled Fishlake for 98.

Featherstone moved further clear of relegation trouble with their second straight win

James Dunn struck a half-century as they posted 166-9 against strugglers Monk Bretton who were dismissed for 110 in reply.

Charlie Kaye (5-17), Alasdair Fearns (34) and Joshua John (33no) led Hooton Pagnell to a four-wicket win against South Kirkby.

Simon Booth (83no), John Lumb (40) and Richard Hopwood (4-48) gave Rothwell the edge against Frickley, for whom Steve Secker (48) top-scored.

Knottingley bounced back from two defeats in Division Two with a four-wicket success at Barnby Dun.

Eddie Wilson (54) and Andy Lund (38) guided Knottingley to victory after Daniel Lund (5-28) had limited Barnby to 147.

Leaders Nostell crushed Hemsworth who were routed for 36 by Lee Hurst (5-7).

Karl Hewitt hit 74 and Ray Bowers 51 not out in third-placed Sandal’s eight-wicket win against Thurnscoe.

Whitley Bridge came off second best against Sprotbrough, despite a 90-run opening stand between James Pearson and Lewis Longstaff.

Matthew Daniel (4-70), Will Thorne (3-45) and Longstaff (2-39) kept Sprotbrough at 201 after they had looked set for a bigger total at 109-2.

Pearson (62), who hit two sixes and eight fours, and Longstaff (27) gave Whitley’s reply a flying start.

However, wickets then began to tumble and they slipped to 121-5 before Tom Wright’s unbeaten 37 saw them finish on 167-6.

In Division Six, Whitley Bridge 2nds lost by 74 runs at Wakefield Thornes 3rds.

Saqlain Shazad (106) and Chris Bowley (54) put on 85 for the second wicket as Thornes piled up 226-5.

Shazad’s century included seven sixes and seven fours.

Grant McLean (2-62) was Whitley’s most successful bowler.

Whitley’s reply fell well short when they were all out for 152, despite the efforts of Gareth Jones (35), McLean (33) and Jacob Bury (31no).

Hundhill Hall 2nds lost by 111 runs to Barnsley and Allerton Bywater 2nds were routed for 66 in a nine-wicket defeat against Wombwell 2nds.

In Division Seven, Knottingley 2nds trounced Glasshoughton 2nds by 124 runs.

Stuart Camm (44) top-scored in Knottingley’s total of 173. Glasshoughton’s Peter Cockroft took 5-31 and Andy Nicholls 3-49.

In reply, Darren Green’s superb bowling routed Glasshoughton for 49.

Green snapped up 6-11, with Rich Hopton (30) the only Glasshoughton batsman putting up any resistance.

Ferrybridge 2nds slipped to a seven-run defeat against Brodsworth 2nds.

Excellent work by Sam Angell (4-48), Andy Adams (2-18) and Atif Basharat ()2-14) saw Brodsworth dismissed for 144.

But Ferrybridge’s reply fell agonisingly short when they were bowled out for 137.

Mark Hinchcliffe (38), Sam Angell (32) and Robert Brain (21) were Ferrybridge’s top scorers.

Mark Arbon (76) and Joshua Liddle (49no) led Thorpe Audlin 2nds to 272-5 against Hensall 2nds who were toppled for 101 by Jason Mills (4-22).