Streethouse lift championship

Fairburn's Craig Piggott hammered 166.
Fairburn's Craig Piggott hammered 166.
Share this article

STREETHOUSE clinched the Torbeck Pontefract League Division One title with Saturday’s 33-run victory against Rothwell.

With one match remaining, Streethouse are 16 points clear of closest rivals Ackworth who hopes of retaining the title ended when they lost to Fairburn.

Richard Vigars (44), Martin Rhodes (35no) and Ismail Patel (4-34) led Streethouse to their 18th league win this season as they completed a double over Rothwell.

Fairburn were routed for 37 when they crashed to a 97-run home defeat against Ackworth three months ago but they gained sweet revenge in last weekend’s return fixture.

Craig Piggott hammered 12 sixes and 14 fours in a magificent 166 off 139 balls as Fairburn piled up 311-3.

Piggott, who reached his century off 104 deliveries, put on 244 for the third wicket with Guy Abdy (98no) as Fairburn recovered superbly after losing openers Ian Jones and Arunava Banerjee cheaply.

Ackworth’s reply started excellently with an opening 128-run stand between Chris O’Grady (83) and Peter Hepworth (68) but the dismissal of former Leicestershire county player Hepworth dented their chances of overhauling the target and they eventually finished on 256-6.

Fairburn spinner Banerjee had figures of 6-96 from 14 overs.

Lowly Featherstone slipped to a narrow defeat against Fishlake.

Openers Peter Butterworth (60) and Josh Mason (49) gave Fishlake a great start before David Hiorns (4-26) and Richard Askham (3-55) got to work to restrict the visitors to 185-9.

James Dunn (42), Ryan Armitage (36), Craig Robinson (33) and Hiorns (21) led Featherstone’s reply which fell 13 runs short when they were all out for 172.

Simon Ward (58no) and Dale McMullan (48no) shared an unbroken century stand as Old Sharlston bounced back from four defeats by beating Crofton by six wickets.

Lee Hurst (7-13) was Nostell’s match-winner in a low-scoring game against Upper Haugh.

Matthew Charlton (44no), Lee Capstick (42) and Phil Howell (4-40) led Frickley Colliery to an eight wicket success at strugglers Hooton Pagnell who are 10 points adrift of second bottom Featherstone.

Whitley Bridge lost a low-scoring Division Two match against Sprotbrough.

Matthew Daniel (6-16) and Julian Peace (3-34) reduced Sprotbrough to 27-7 before Ben Lyons (36) and Dave Carr (28) rescued the innings by guiding them 120.

Whitley’s reply was soon in trouble and although Matt Draper (27no) tried to hold the innings together he lacked support as they fell for 80.

Glasshoughton lost to Monk Bretton who are vying with Stainborough for the Division Two championship on the final day this Saturday.

Liam Hopton (77) and all-rounder Rob Sperrin (60 and 4-60) were Glasshoughton’s best performers in a 37-run defeat.

Allerton Bywater bagged their fourth straight win in Division Three by beating Brodsworth Main.

Andy Kundkel (6-31) and Matt Weaver (2-33) routed bottom side Brodsworth for 95.

Allerton’s reply was floundering at 35-5 but they were rescued by a match-winning umbroken 63-run stand between Neil Patel (39no) and Paul Lyon (18no).

Ackworth A achieved their third successive win at Normanton.

Dale Longfield (53), Alistair Cunliffe (47) and Callum Honeyman (46) led the way as Ackworth overhauled’s Normanton’s 2211-8 that featured a century by Lee Stuckey.