Three teams vying for title on last day

Paul Langley hit 87 in Streethouse's win against Fishlake on Saturday.
Paul Langley hit 87 in Streethouse's win against Fishlake on Saturday.
Share this article

There is an exciting finish to the Pontefract League Division One championship race with Ackworth, Streethouse and Old Sharlston all vying for the title on the final day on Saturday.

Leaders Ackworth, aiming to be crowned champions for the second time in four seasons, visit Fishlake.

Ackworth are four points clear of Streethouse and Old Sharlston whose last matches are at Hooton Pagnell and Fairburn respectively.

Joe Seddon and skipper Peter Hepworth were outstanding as Ackworth retained top spot by crushing South Kirkby last weekend.

Seddon (65) and Dale Longfield (26) top-scored as Ackworth posted 209-9 and spinner Hepworth snapped up 6-7 to send Kirkby’s reply collapsing to 83 all out.

Callum Honeyman (98no) and Paul Langley (87) shared a 148-run stand in Streethouse’s total of 234-5 against Fishlake who were routed for 112 by Scott Bland (5-36) and Steve Honeyman (5-58).

Old Sharlston scraped a 28-run victory in a low-scoring match against neighbours Featherstone.

Bart Thomson (6-29) toppled Sharlston for 121, which included an unbeaten 70 by opener Dale McMullan.

In reply, Adam Perry’s undefeated 38 was in vain for Featherstone as they fell for 93, with Wayne Walker bagging 4-20.

Rothwell (96 points), Featherstone (102), Frickley (104), Stainborough (108) and Monk Bretton (110) are all battling to avoid the drop. Four of the relegation candidates meet on Saturday when Featherstone host bottom side Rothwell and Frickley visit Monk Bretton.

Fairburn completed a league double over Rothwell .

Craig Piggott (124) and Jake Abdy (103no) guided Fairburn to a formidable 315-5 and Paul Clark (4-33) limited Rothwell’s reply to 206-9 which included an unbeaten 64 by Rohan Quarmby.

Wombwell are favourites to lift the Division Two championship after snatching a five point lead over Nostell by beating them by three wickets in the clash of the promoted teams. Nostell’s defeat, which cost them top spot, was tough on all-rounder Lee Hurst who hit 35 and claimed 4-33 in a 14-over spell.

Crofton ended their relegation worries by defeating Knottingley by 15 runs. Knottingley looked handily placed when Eddie Wilson took 6-26 from 11.2 overs to rout Crofton for 127 but Knottingley managed only 112 in reply.

Whitley Bridge lost by 106 runs to Hemsworth in a clash of two mid-table sides.

Steve Biddulph (56), Phil Crapper (48) and Craig Webster (46) led Hemsworth to 234-7. Whitley’s wicket-takers were Will Thorne (3-73), Lewis Longstaff (2-43) and Matt Draper (2-61).

Whitley’s reply was soon in trouble when they lost Longstaff and Nathaniel Reeson was just six runs on the board.

Opener James Pearson (42) and Gareth Jones (24) tried to hold the innings together but their efforts were in vain as Whitley slumped to 128 all out

Ferrybridge beat Division Four leaders Bentley by six wickets. Keith Lumb (3-15), John Storey (3-24) and Paul Lumb (2-29) skittled Bentley for 96 and Richard Lumb (25no) and Storey (23no) shared an unbroken fifth-wicket partnership as Ferrybridg knocked off the runs. Third-placed Ferrybridge are eight points adrift of the top two, Bentley and Rossington.

Ackworth 2nds were trounced by South Kirkby 2nds when they were routed for 55, chasing Kirkby’s 205-5.

Glasshoughton 2nds were well beaten at Pledwick 2nds in Division Seven. Garat Dakin (35) was the only batsman who made an impact as the Castleford side fell for 84 which Pledwick comfortably overhauled.

Dinesh Nagi (27) and David Shaw (21) were the only batsmen who reached double figures as Ferrybridge 2nds were routed for 84 in an eight-wicket defeat against West Bretton 2nds.