Welburn and Walker set up Ackworth’s win

editorial image

LAST season’s Division One runners up Ackworth beat Stainborough and the rain to record their first win of the season in Pontefract and District Cricket League on Saturday.

Ackworth bounced back from an eight-wicket defeat at Fairburn on the opening day with a four-wicket success.

Chris Welburn bagged 7-48 from 13 overs and Craig Walker 3-28 off 14 as Stainborough were toppled for 161 which included 41 by Steve Bamforth.

Jordan Harvey (pictured) hit 60 and Chris Wathen 49 as Ackworth knocked off the runs.

Monk Bretton and Frickley Colliery tied, both teams totalling 182-7.

Chris Saynor (79no) and Luke Ogden (47) led Monk Bretton’s scoring and Steve Honeyman (4-34) was Frickley’s best bowler.

All-rounder Honeyman (59no) was also Frickley’s top scorer and received excellent support from Gary Proudley (38).

The scores finished level when Marcus Heptinstall was run out off the final ball attempting a second run that would have given Frickley victory.

In the only other Division One game that started, champions Streethouse were 10-2 off four overs against neighbours Old Sharlston when the game was abandoned.

Yorkshire Main and South Kirkby came out on top in the only two Division Two matches played.

Steve Longley (31no) and Andy Rouane (17no) shared an unbroken 60-run opening stand in 16.4 overs to steer Yorkshire Main to a 10-wicket win at Hemsworth who were routed for 59 by Rouane (5-18). Phil Crapper (18) was Hemsworth’s top scorer.

Openers Jake Rimmington (75) and James Scott (67) shared a first-wicket stand of 140 to put South Kirkby on their way to 220-3 against Sprotbrough.

Kirkby looked set to collect maximum points when Chris Beaumont (4-33) reduced Sprotbrough’s reply to 59-6 but they held out at 159-6 after Andy Fairclough (84no) and Kieran Greening (35no) shared an unbroken century stand.

Hensall beat Streethouse A by 19 runs in the solitary Division Three game that got underway.

Tim Henegan (5-27) and James Calvert (4-38) bowled out Streethouse for 129 after Ian Calvert (52) had guided Hensall to 148-8.

In Division Four, Hundhill Hall beat South Kirkby A by six wickets.

Tight bowling by Peter Ferguson (2-10), Lee Arbon (2-25), Josh Harcomb (2-12), Jack Gascoigne (1-23), Keith Breckon (1-23) and Sam Malyan (1-16) limited South Kirkby to 115. Their top scorer was Jack Danks (34).

Hundhill’s under 17s player Reece Johnson struck three sixes and seven fours in a sparkling unbeaten 66 and shared a second-wicket stand of 68 with David Bunney (23) as Hundhill knocked off the runs.

Jordan Midgeley (41) steered Division Four leaders Brodsworth Main to 122-9 against Monk Bretton A who were routed for 42 by Karl Buxton (5-9).

Bullcroft Main were skittled for 54, chasing Peglers’ 161-9 that featured a half-century by Matthew Bedford.

In Division Five, Whitley Bridge A were bowled out for 93 in a nine-wicket defeat against Crofton A and Featherstone A managed only 109-9 in a four-wicket loss against Pledwick.

The unluckiest team on Saturday was undoubtedly Hundhill Hall A who were denied an almost certain victory at Hooton Pagnell A in Division Six.

Craig Murphy (7-22) routed Hooton for 65 and Hundhill were 52-2 in reply when the game was abandoned.

Also in Division Six, Wombwell Main A beat Hatfield Town A by 70 runs and Rothwell A acheived a 76-run win against Sandal A.

Hensall A were 11-1 at Fairburn A when play was washed out.

Allerton Bywater A maintained their 100 per cent in Division Seven by crushing Ferrybridge Power station A.

Allerton recovered from the early loss of openers Dale Johnson and Thomas Delmont to post 136-6 thanks to Johnny Henshaw (43), Ben Solly (36) and Tony Harrison (26).

Jim Metcalfe (3-40) was Ferrybridge’s most successful bowler.

In reply, Ferrybridge were toppled for 42 by Paul Dalby (6-17) and Kris Thickett (2-5).

Saturday’s Pontefract League results were:

Division 1: Stainborough 161 (S Bamforth 41, C Welburn 7-48, C Walker 3-28), *Ackworth 164-6 (J Harvey 60, C Wathen 49); Monk Bretton 182-7 (C Saynor 79no, L Ogden 47), Frickley Colliery 182-7 (S Honeyman 59no, G Proudley 38); *Streethouse 10-2 v Old Sharlston.

Division 2: *Hemsworth 59 (A Rouane 5-18), Yorkshire Main 60-0 (S Longley 31no); *South Kirkby 220-3 (J Rimmington 75, J Scott 67), Sprotbrough 159-6 (A Fairclough 84no, K Greening 35no).

Division 3: *Hensall 148-8 (I calvert 52), Streethouse 129 (T Henegan 5-27, J Calvert 4-38).

Division 4: *Brodsworth Main 122-9, Monk Bretton 42; South Kirkby 115, *Hundhill Hall 116-4; *Peglers 161-9, Bullcroft Main 54.

Division 5: *Featherstone 109-9, Pledwick 110-6.

Division 6: Hensall 11-1 v *Fairburn; Wombwell Main 122, *Hatfield 52; *Hooton Pagnell 65, Hundhill Hall 51-2; *Rothwell 171-6, Sandal 95.

Division 7: Allerton Bywater 136-6, *Ferrybridge PS 42.