Welfare keep up pressure by crushing Featherstone

Streethouse's Damian Bowles struck 104 for the Division One leaders in Saturday's victory at Frickley Colliery.
Streethouse's Damian Bowles struck 104 for the Division One leaders in Saturday's victory at Frickley Colliery.

HEMSWORTH Miners Welfare kept the pressure on Pontefract and District Cricket League Division Two leaders Brodsworth Main by trouncing Featherstone.

Max Heritage (44) led Hemsworth to 209 which also included 35 by Jake Taberner and 28 from James Gorton.

Featherstone’s Richard Colley claimed 4-37 from 14 overs and Jack Hiorns 4-57 from 10.

Skipper Jason Picken (24) was the solitary batsman in doubles figures as Taberner (3-13) and Max Heritage (2-13) skittled nine-man Featherstone for 51.

With four matches remaining, second-placed Hemsworth are nine points adrift of leaders Brodsworth Main who won by three wickets at Glasshoughton.

Alex Clemo (69no) and Clinton Speight (31) top-scored in Glasshoughton’s total of 212-9 which Brodsworth overhauled in 42.3 overs thanks to Andrew Warren (56), Adrian Price (46) and William Drury (35).

Speight was Glasshoughton’s best bowler with 2-34 from eight overs.

Knottingley won by four wickets at Notton who were routed for 105 by Chamila Wijesinghe (4-29 from 14 overs), Pubudu Dasanayaka (3-19) and Tony Dove (2-29).

In reply, Knottingley lost two early wickets but skipper Andrew Lund (42), Dasanayaka (22) and Morgan Tucker (20) then saw them safely home.

An opening 123-run stand between James Pearson and Lewis Longstaff guided Whitley Bridge to an eight-wicket victory at Stainborough.

Longstaff clouted 16 boundaries in a sparkling 78 off 78 balls and Pearson hit 43 as Whitley chased down Stainborough’s total of 145 in only 25.5 overs.

Whitley’s wicket-takers were Sam Lodge (5-25 from 8.4 overs), Mathew Draper (3-50) and Longstaff (2-32).

Allerton Bywater lost by 143 runs to Rothwell.

Matthew Thompson (4-52 from 13 overs) helped limit Rothwell to 236-6 which featured 81 by Andy Humphreys and 75 from Tony Gardner.

Allerton’s reply never got going. They were bowled out for 93 in 29 overs by James Pennington (6-32) and Brett Russell (4-20).

Crigglestone beat Darton by 40 runs.

Division One leaders Streethouse retained an 18-point lead over title rivals Fairburn with a 53-run win at Frickley Colliery.

Damian Bowles smashed seven sixes and six fours in a magnificent 104 as Streethouse piled up 265-4. Bowles put on 167 for the second wicket with captain Jonathan Hughes whose 88 included one six and ten fours. It took Hughes’s tally to 1,o37 runs this season.

Injerjit Singh Hayre (39), Imran Shahzad (38) and Mathew Pinder (30) led Frickley’s spirited reply which ended at 212.

Streethouse’s Muhammad Fayyaz bagged 4-22 from 6.5 overs and Scott Bland and Kyle Cleobury each took two wickets.

Nicky Kirton and Brian Devine batted excellently as Fairburn kept alive their championship hopes with a 153-run victory over South Kirkby.

Kirton struck 83 off 88 balls and Devine hammered 74 off just 42 deliveries as Fairburn raced to 289-7. Craig Piggott (35) and Jake Abdy (31) were the other main contributors.

Guy Abdy picked up 3-23 and James Pugh 3-36 as Kirkby were bowled out for 136.

Adam Rollin (29) and Jacob Peacock (28) were Kirkby’s top scorers.

Old Sharlston were involved in a tie for the third time this season. Chasing Sharlston’s 219-9, Ackworth were all out for an identical total off the final ball of the game.

Ian Taylor (44), Alec Elliot (31), Matthew Harrison (4-49) and Robert Herbert (4-21) gave Hooton Pagnell the edge at Hatfield Town whose 14-run defeat was tough on Paul Davies (58).

Nick Bisby hit 62 and David Longley snapped up 3-27 as Askern beat West Bretton by 31 runs. Greg Mann (77no) and Pete Mawdsley (53no) led Rossington Main to a nine-wicket win against Barnby Dun.