Youngsters pick up cricket awards

Prize winners from the Heavy Woollen Junior Cricket League presentation evening.
Prize winners from the Heavy Woollen Junior Cricket League presentation evening.

METHLEY players and teams figured prominently at Heavy Woollen District Junior Cricket League’s annual presentation night at Moorlands CC on Thursday.

The following individual awards were presented:

WS Goldsmith Memorial Trophy: Alex Baldwin (New Farnley). Geoff Lowe Under-9s player of the season: Harry Sullivan and Daniel Ford, joint winners (both Methley). Clifford Smith Under-10s Memorial Trophy - Under-10 player of the season: Aiden Langley (East Ardsley). Dennis Richards Under-11s Trophy - Lord’s Taverners squad player of the series: Attah’ur Rehman (Cleckheaton). Neil smith Under-11s Trophy - player of the Dorothy Smith finals day: Thomas Lindsay (New Farnley). Clifford Smith Under-11s player of the season: Josh Sturgess (Gildersome). The Reporter Under-13s player of the season: Hassan Hussain (Hunslet Nelson).

Heavy Woollen Cricket Society Under-13s Cup - Lord’s Taverners squad player of the week: Sam Isles (Birstall). Daniel Ward Memorial Trophy - Tour performance of the week: Joe Plater (Hunslet Nelson). John Regan Under-15s Trophy - Lord’s Taverners player of the week: Daniel Cross (Hunslet Nelson). Raymond Goldbold Under-15s Batting Prize - most scores of 35 and above in league matches: Max Senior (Gomersal). Margaret Howarth Under-15s Bowling Prize best bowling return in a single match (joint winners): Jonathan Bush (Gildersome) & Daniel Cross (Hunslet Nelson). Joyce Hoblyn Under-15s Wicketkeeping Prize - most victims in league matches: Nicholas Richardson (Hunslet Nelson). Roy Black Under-17s Trophy - Player of the Under-17s League Championship final: Sam Noden (Wrenthorpe). Roy Anderson Under-17s Trophy - player of the Derek Taylor Cup finals day: James Logan (Altofts). George Newton Under-17s Trophy - player of the season: Daniel Cross (Hunslet Nelson). Tom Austin Girls Trophy - player of the season: Kennedy Nuttall (Altofts).

The team trophy winners were:

Hunslet Nelson Under-9s Cup: Methley (captain Jake Smart). Hunslet Nelson Under-9s Challenge Trophy: Altofts (joint captains Ben Walsh & Tom Palmer). Jack Byrne Under-9s Hardball Winners Trophy: Airedale (captain Daniel Ford). Jack Byrne Under-9s Hardball Finalists Trophy: Spen Valley (captain Tom Senior). Dorothy Smith Under-11s Championship: Methley (captain Ben Child). Nancy Richards Under-11 Leahie finalists: New Farnley (captain Callum Swift). Peter Myers Under-11s Cup: Methley (captain Ben Child). The Reporter Series Under-13s League Championship: Liversedge (captain Sam Trevitt). The Reporter Series Under-13s League Finalists Shield: Gomersal (captain Tom Austin). Gordon S Cooper Under-13 Cup: Methley (captain Harry Kellaway).

Marsdin Under-15s Trophy: Altofts (captain Jonathan Donnelly). Leslie Ruddleston Trophy - awarded to the Marsdin Trophy Finalists: Wrenthorpe (captain Joe Seddon). Gordon S Cooper Under-15s League Championship: Hunslet Nelson (captain Kieron Holliday).

Leslie Ruddleston Under-15 League finalists: Altofts (captain Jonathan Donnelly). The Reporter, Peter Snape, Under-17 League Championship: Wrenthorpe (Jake Holliday). Heavy Woollen Cricket Society Under-17 Trophy - awarded to Peter Snape Championship finalists: Methley (captain Ben Quirk). Derek Taylor Under-17 Cup: Altofts (captain Brad Barber). Geoff Lowe Girls League Championship: Wrenthorpe (captain Maisie Thornton). Dale Baxter Spirit of Cricket Trophy: West Bretton.